James and I often refer to our first year of parenting as Tornado parenting because we literally felt like we had been thrown into one. All of a sudden we had 2 tiny people to take care of and it was hard! There were tantrums and biting, diapers to change, sleepless nights, etc. All of a sudden, we couldn’t just eat cereal for dinner anymore because we had someone else to think about. Going to the bathroom now meant having an audience and our laundry doubled overnight. We now had to remember diaper bags, lunches, car seats, dr. appointments, and birthdays. We were not at all in the parenting loop, but all of a sudden we were thrown right in the middle of it.

Garrett started his second half of first grade when he first came to live with us. We made sure he had the school supplies he needed, we filled out forms, etc. Since it was the middle of the year and Garrett was in 1st grade, I guess the teacher just assumed we knew what we were doing (big mistake on her part). 2 weeks after school started in January, I realized there was a folder that I was supposed to be checking every day! 2 weeks!!!! I had not looked at it once. Inside his folder were missed assignments, stacks of graded papers, and unsigned permission slips. I knew his teacher must have thought we were great parents (don’t miss the sarcasm there). I really didn’t know 1st graders even had homework so I didn’t bother to ask Garrett and he didn’t bother to tell me either. 

I was coming to terms with the fact that we were going to have to fake it until we made it. Now, 2 1/2 years later, I know that’s what parenting is all about.